Brackish Waters

how my gaming and life coalesce.

Maybe the Beauty Queen was right

The following was a conversation between some of my fellow employees.  I don’t know what is more disturbing about this conversation, the fact that I know they bank a lot more than I do or that they had to use a reference tool.

Employee 1: Hey, what state is DE?
Employee 2:  I don’t know, Denver?
*pause*
Employee 2: I’d Google it.
Employee 1: Oh, its Delaware.
Employee 2: I was close.

… and my wife wonders why I cry myself to sleep every night.

October 25, 2007 - Posted by | Rants, RL | ,

6 Comments »

  1. *facepalm, headdesk*
    On the other hand – how do they look in an evening gown? Now, you just need to convince them to seek employment in the Pageant Industry.

    LadyP.

    Comment by LadyPao | October 25, 2007 | Reply

  2. I would have said Dark Elf. *shrug*

    Comment by Keen | October 26, 2007 | Reply

  3. I was going to attempt a quick comeback to the person who originally asked that but the Denver statement trumped anything I could have come up with.

    I’m anticipating a new entry to the Darwin awards any day now.

    Comment by brackishwater | October 26, 2007 | Reply

  4. Some people simply amaze me.

    Yesterday, I had a user call me and say, “My wireless mouse isn’t working.” I said, “Is the receiver plugged in?” “Yes,” she said with a sigh. “Do you have a lot of stuff blocking the receiver?” “No,” she said sounding annoyed. “Are you sure the battery in the mouse is good?” “I’m not an idiot,” she replied sounding a bit testy.

    Thinking to myself, “No, it couldn’t be,” I asked with some trepidation, “Did you turn the mouse on?” “No,” she said. “I didn’t want to run down the battery.”

    Comment by rao | October 26, 2007 | Reply

  5. The “Denver?” line is golden.

    Comment by Bildo | October 26, 2007 | Reply

  6. Awww, we should bless these people for making our lives more interesting 😛

    Comment by revenants | October 29, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

