Brackish Waters

how my gaming and life coalesce.

We all have to start somewhere

Im going to make a confession here today.  I am the noob exemplar when it comes toMy son the noob everything EQ.  I never played EQ1 or EQ2 and I have no idea what even the storyline of the games are about.  There I said it.  That wasn’t bad actually.

Your game-cred has been lowered by 2
*sigh*

I came into MMO gaming when DAOC had just been released and had very little in terms of experience.  I had the choice of either picking this game up and playing with some friends or subscribing to a much more established game called Everquest.  Had I known then what I know now, I probably would still have went with DAOC.  I had the immediate companionship of my RL friends and there is nothing better than that.

I can’t help but feel a sense of loss though.  This usually happens when I am in a conversation with people that suddenly strays to a EQ zone or mob encounter and I have nothing to contribute but silence.  Its a little frustrating, but I am sure it will be nothing compared to how my son will feel when he jumps in his first MMO and WoW references start coming through the chat.  Luckily, he will have his dear old dad sitting next to him with carpal tunnel wraps and sipping a beer through a straw to help him along.

After listening to Troy’s latest podcast, I felt somewhat encouraged to play EQ2.  This and the fact that SOE has been trying to seduce me made me start downloading it last night.  He announced he will be a co-host on a new show called Equal Perspective and their plans for this show will be to have multiple viewpoints: a veteran, a casual gamer(Troy) and a complete noob.  I’m psyched! From what I understand, they will be talking mostly about Everquest 1 & 2, but who knows what the conversations could lead to with these guys.

I’m going to leave my first impressions of my adventure in Everquest 2 for another post, but I have to say that it feels good to finally step foot in this world, even if it is for only a little while.

August 17, 2007 - Posted by | EQ2

3 Comments »

  1. What server are you going to get your feet wet on? I’m still tinkering with EQ2 when I have time, but I am not too terribly far along yet. I am determined to start enjoying that game and I think I will once I quit playing it from an analytical point of view.

    All in all, it has come a long way since launch and appears to be a very solid gaming experience.

    Comment by rao | August 17, 2007 | Reply

  2. I jumped into the Antonia Bayle server mainly because if I did like it I was thinking of joining up with the Slow Burn project that Average Joe has going. I like the idea behind that guild and it would be a great way to experience the world of Everquest, slowly and not rushed.
    I started a Gnome Wizard and have not even peeked at a FAQ or wiki site yet. I don’t plan on using any out of game resource until I get really stuck or simply cannot figure the system out for myself.
    If anyone wants to stop by the Fae starting zone and troll along with a true newb, I’m there as Brackishwater.

    Comment by brackishwater | August 17, 2007 | Reply

  3. That’s the server I’ve been playing on, but I went ahead and started over in Qeynos. That’s where I started back when the game first came out and I just kind of figured I would see how it had changed in the parts that I knew. Right now, I’m playing a high elf wizard named Aeudiar and I’ll most likely create a half elf something or other named Raolien. I’ll give you a shout if I see you online.

    Comment by rao | August 20, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

