Brackish Waters

how my gaming and life coalesce.

Ahh Vacation

What had been planned as a three day vacation last Monday turned into a nice long week away from work. I usually use my accrued time for various days throughout the year and to extend some weekends to three days. When I found myself on the beach and spending some great time with my son and wife, I just couldn’t help but use the extra two days and make it a nice long week of regeneration. At the end of the week, I couldn’t believe how much I had accomplished.


I finished three books and started the Ender Wiggin series again. I forgot how much I loved this story and suddenly found myself on the porch at 2 am still reading.. If you haven’t heard of it before, its a great piece of science fiction by Orson Scott Card.

On Wednesday, I received an interesting piece of mail from Google saying that they have given me $50 towards any Google Checkout purchase because of my past Google Video Purchases.  When that service first started, my wife and I were hooked on downloading various shows and movies.  We haven’t owned a TV for about 7 years now and I think the possibility that on-demand was now available via the net kept us buying.  So we were happy to take the $50 reward and decided to use it to expand a game that the both of us have been playing on a nightly basis for the past two months.  Settlers of Catan has an expansion called Seafarers of Catan and we instantly picked this up and hope to receive it in the next few days.  I look forward to some nasty battles in the week to come.

In Lord of the Rings Online, my Burglar reached level 43 and is halfway through Book 5 and Book 6 of the epic quest lines. I still have yet to hit the stagnation that some other players talk about, especially now that I have ventured further into Angmar. I have atleast 15 quests completed so far there and about 20 left in the queue. When I spoke to a guildee about this, they said they had finished 85 quests so far in Angmar and still have a ton to accomplish. This definitely made me happy about the 45+ game.

I finished an old FPS game that I had on the shelf called Far Cry and I have to say that I will probably never pick that up again. It had some of the worst cut scenes and most boring storyline I have yet to follow in a FPS. The only part of it that I could find myself returning to play would be some of the missions where I was rolling along a river in a cool pontoon boat or assaulting some of the smaller islands. I would recommend this only if you could pick it up at a yard sale like I did.

My RL got a lot better this week as I began confronting some of the debt I have and figuring out logical ways to pay it back. I managed to start work on a budget and pay off a credit card. I can’t wait to go home tonight and sacrifice that 2″ piece of plastic with my 36″ Axe of GetItInWriting. If you have never dealt with companies like Capitol One before, I highly recommend everything you speak to them about get backed up by a paper copy of some sort. These people are not out to be your friends and will attempt to shove large objects into various orifices of yours while holding a smile and saying the didn’t used lubricant.

One of the most dramatic changes that came about in RL happened on Friday the 17th. This is an awesome example of how gaming has truly made an impact on my life. I’m going to devote a post specifically to this change as I still have a lot to catch up on at work and want to truly give the idea the room to breath in its own article.

August 13, 2007 - Posted by | Adventure Journal, Brainstorms, RL

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

