Brackish Waters

how my gaming and life coalesce.

Another Feed Bag?

The other day I walked into my house to the sound of my son screaming with joy. Lotro Chicken Apparently my wife was doing the laundry and instead of trying to fight off my son while folding a sheet, she placed it over two of our computer chairs. It draped down over both of them creating a small tent and my son found this to be the greatest thing in the world.

He proceeded to gather all of his toys in the room and drag them into his new fort, hiding them in corners and in every cranny the sheet was making. We joined in by adding pillows and laid down a blanket for a nice soft floor. We watched him for about 40 minutes moving in and out of the fort so excited about this new look to the world.

This immediately made me think about Turbine’s decision to add in this new Session Play in the next content patch. If done right, this could be really fun and open up an opportunity for them to showcase more of the humor we got a taste of in Hobnobigans.

I was initially disappointed by this announcement as I took it as a sort of time sink to keep us entertained until the Fall. I really didn’t spend too much time in the festival that just ended as I was just getting into the level 30 content and really enjoying it. Most of the other people I play with spent about a day or so entertained by it and then moved back on to the regular gameplay as well. Come to think of it, I never really spent much time in the mini content patches that WoW did either. I wasn’t a fan of the winter fair or the Halloween quests. Maybe its because my time available to play has changed so much recently that I know nothing useful will come from taking the time to participate in this material.

I am intrigued by the thought of getting items for my main character from this alternate form of play, but if its anything like the “one time use fireworks” we got after a 4 hour trek, I will not be amused. I have a feeling though that I will be spending more time trying this out because of the options available. The troll should offer some dark humor and hopefully a little goblin pounding. The chicken will be comical at first and I have no doubt that Radagast will be a blast to talk to. That kook has a weird side that is definitely going to come out.

Overall, the idea is pretty smart for Turbine as its probably a lot less time intensive to implement something like this session play into areas that players have access to, rather than cram in another zone right after the last update. You could say they are egging us on and and trying to keep us cooped up, wolfing down content until the next billing cycle.  All I know is if they don’t add a /chickendance emote, eggs will fly.

-Brackish

July 13, 2007 - Posted by | LOTRO, RL

2 Comments »

  1. I have to agree, and I like the comparison to your son’s fort-making. (Ahh the memories that brings back…) I think session play could definitely be fun, and IMO it fits right into the sort of whimsical humor already present in the world.

    Comment by Heather | July 24, 2007 | Reply

  2. Thanks Heather.

    Yeah I couldn’t help but pitch in this weekend and build a bigger one for the two of us and chill out for lunch in the “living room”. Good Times.

    Comment by brackishwater | July 30, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

