Brackish Waters

how my gaming and life coalesce.

How do I stop this *censored* Lag?

I normally don’t post when I’m at home because I save this time for actual gaming or maybe eating something.  However, there are times that just call for action and this is one of those times!  This has got to be the best fix yet for lag in a game:TR_Lag

Known Issue Workaround
There is an issue that causes extreme lag on Descent when your profanity filter is enabled. If you are going to Descent, turn off your profanity filter option located on the Game tab.

That was in the patch notes this evening when I logged into Tabula Rasa. I’m not even going to get into the part about the name of the zone in which this takes place and the fact that you have to put yourself through the torture of listening to the children banter on in full color.  It speaks for itself.

Just in case some people are actually experiencing this issue, here is the additional notes on this.

If you are on Descent and are unable to turn off your profanity filter, send a petition on an alternate character and remain online for GM assistance. If you cannot remain online, simply update your support ticket the next time you are able to log into the game.

Best fix ever.

November 20, 2007 - Posted by | Tabula Rasa |

6 Comments »

  1. Read that changing your map from say your current one of 4 to say 1 of the same region will reduce lag also…strange but I have yet to try this out.

    Comment by dmosbon | November 20, 2007 | Reply

  2. Yeah, I tend to stay in the “low” populated ones myself. This does tend to help with any lag due to the amount of players but this sounds like something different altogether. I’m still in Palisades so I am not even sure where Descent is. :P

    Comment by brackishwater | November 20, 2007 | Reply

  3. The profanity filter causes extreme lag? That’s surprising. Of all the things to cause extreme lag… :)

    Comment by Link | November 20, 2007 | Reply

  4. I think I shot Mt. Dew out of my nose when I logged on to TR yesterday and saw that.

    That must be the most complex profanity filtered ever designed.

    Comment by Smush | November 20, 2007 | Reply

  5. Hahah! Too funny.

    Now if only they could install a profanity filter in my head, it might stop me swearing so much!…after a heavy nights drinking I seem to have a huge amount of lag anyhow, so the extra from the filter wouldn’t hurt.

    Killzum.

    Comment by Killzum | November 21, 2007 | Reply

  6. That’s fantastic! Best bug ever.

    Oh and Brack, I joined in on the TR is actually, you know, good bandwagon this weekend. I’m on Orion with the surname Bildo. :)

    Comment by Bildo | November 26, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

