Brackish Waters

how my gaming and life coalesce.

Tabula Rasa – A video review

What an exciting title huh? I’m sorry as I really wanted to call this one “I brought you flowers” because of the blog guilt I’m feeling right now, but I just didn’t think it would explain the real content of the post.

I’ve been playing a lot of Tabula Rasa and I know I have already written a little review about the game but I just felt like it needed or deserved more. I’m not saying this is the epic game I have always been waiting for or that you should run out and grab it right now. I don’t do recommendations anymore.

What I will show you is exactly how the game is and maybe give you enough information to decide if TR is the game for you. Please enjoy as this was what has kept me away for the past couple days.

The Google Video Page

System Specifications
MSI 915p Neo2Platinum
2 gig PC2-4200 Kingston
MSI RX800XL ATI Raddeon PCIx16
2.8 Pentium 4

November 14, 2007 - Posted by | Reviews, Tabula Rasa |

18 Comments »

  1. Very well done.

    Comment by darrenl | November 14, 2007 | Reply

  2. Wow I got to say I really enjoyed that Brack.

    Couple questions though. How bad is it for collecting and Fedex style quest?

    How is grouping in the game? I noticed you soloing a lot is it better to just solo? (I realize you may have been soloing for the purpose of the video.)

    Last question. Are npc battles for control of bases ramped up a lot from the beta?

    Comment by Craig Hailin | November 14, 2007 | Reply

  3. Fed-Ex quests are there but some that I have done have been boring and some have been enjoyable. One in particular that comes to mind was an enemy base that needed a beacon planted in front of it. Once you plant that beacon, bombs begin to fall from the sky and the place becomes surrounded by smoke – pretty cool. I just walked away, fought back to the base and reaped the reward.

    Grouping can be fun when you play with a couple people but when I ran an instance last night with another guild it was very fast and kind of zerg-like. Other times I have done some instance and it seemed like the less people you brought along the more the game had the feeling it intended – strategic combat movements and insane, visceral combat encounters.

    I’m sorry but I didn’t get much of a taste of the base battles beyond Wilderness in beta but I will say that they seem to be less prevalent in Divide (the 2nd area you go into). I’m holding off all judgment on this until I get to the next zone which looks like a pretty cool place called the Palisades.

    Thanks for the comments!

    Comment by brackishwater | November 14, 2007 | Reply

  4. Nice video, man. Doesn’t really look like my kind of a game, but the, it is hard to get a feel for what a game is really like without playing it yourself. It looks like a nice setup though and a fairly well-designed game. I might check it out one of these days.

    Comment by rao | November 14, 2007 | Reply

  5. I am happy to hear there is some flavor to parts of the FedEx quests and it really sounds like the combat makes up for a lot of the short comings.

    I really want some intense base battles for this game. This is always something that can be ramped up later in the levels or in a patch down the road if they feel it isn’t hard enough.

    Thanks for answering my questions.

    Comment by Craig Hailin | November 15, 2007 | Reply

  6. /clap

    Comment by Link | November 15, 2007 | Reply

  7. Very cool demo vid you put together. I’ll definitely steer any friends asking about TR to it in the future.

    Comment by tenfoldhate | November 15, 2007 | Reply

  8. Masterful effort. Nice job. Probably my crappy work laptop, but for some reason, I had better buffering going directly through Google’s site than off the blog.

    *shakesfist* damn you for upping the blog ante for game previews!!

    good job.

    Comment by p@tsh@t | November 16, 2007 | Reply

  9. Thanks everyone

    yeah I put in the link to the video page because you aren’t the first to tell me that. Thanks for the heads up though.

    Comment by brackishwater | November 16, 2007 | Reply

  10. [...] has a great video review of TR.  A good mix of breadth, depth and quality video.  Go here and bow down to the video god that he [...]

    Pingback by Tabula Rasa Video Review « pΘtshΘt | November 16, 2007 | Reply

  11. [...] I found a players view of Tabula Rasa filmed & placed on Google Video, here’s the link: Brakish Waters Blog Explore posts in the same categories: Gaming, MMORPG, Tabula [...]

    Pingback by Early impressions of Tabula Rasa « Sweet Flag | November 16, 2007 | Reply

  12. Man, great video review of this game. I tried the beta but wasn’t too excited about it..after seeing this video, it appears I didn’t give it a fighting chance. I really think you did a tremendous job of showing this game off.

    Comment by Mark | November 16, 2007 | Reply

  13. Nice job!

    Though it’s not without some shortcomings (subpar graphics engine and a sometimes clunky UI), I’m finding this game to be a pleasant surprise.

    Comment by Smush | November 17, 2007 | Reply

  14. You know, Pirates is close by, Conan is in March (maybe), and WAR is in the second quarter… but it is hard to resist the draw of a new MMO, even one I didn’t really like in beta… why is that?

    Comment by Bildo | November 19, 2007 | Reply

  15. 2008 is going to be crazy!
    I know, I know. I feel the same way Bildo. I had the option to pick this up or RoK, and so far I am not disappointed. I think its just the shooter in me that needs the occasional fix. Though, I did get a chance to try HG:L this weekend and I’d say that it would have sated me as well but not as long. (Granted that was just the demo I tried)

    Comment by brackishwater | November 19, 2007 | Reply

  16. Aye, HG:L is not really an MMO. It’s more akin to Diablo 1 and 2, and if you don’t really care for replaying a game in higher difficulty modes to advance further, then your fun would/could run out at about level 30, which is about 25-30 hours of playing.

    Assuming you can make it past the bugs and general broken-ness, it’s a fun game. But not a long-term draw for me either. More of a “come back and play when I need quick action” kind of game.

    Desperately looking forward to Pirates in January though… cannot wait to stir up trouble as my own scurvy dog. No nation-whoring for me. All Pirate, baby.

    Comment by Bildo | November 20, 2007 | Reply

  17. There is obviously a lot to know about this. There are some good points here.

    I’m Out! :)

    Comment by online stock trading advice | January 11, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

