Brackish Waters

how my gaming and life coalesce.

I’m no advocate for change but,

Burglar…there are some things that just need to be re-evaluated after a period of time.   Sometimes it takes a new set of eyes to look at the same issue and offer up a new solution.  Other times it takes a more brutal approach and slaps us right in the face and says:

“Wake up! Things are not how they should be!”

This weekend my house was broken into and I am at the point where I need to decide if having a firearm in the house is a better alternative to not having one.  Being a parent and living in more rural zone puts these reasons at the top of the argument for the pro side.  The flip side of this is that I am possibly endangering my child by simply having one in the house.

Lets get real though, all that was taken was a 3 liter bottle of root beer and 7$ in cash.

“But that was MY root beer and I wanted to drink it while playing EQ2 on double experience Sunday dammit!”

If you ask my wife, she thinks I was more upset about the root beer than anything else but I can’t help but think if the burglar had come upstairs would I have gone and picked up a new Smith and Wesson the next morning.  Someone violated my house and my refrigerator!  They gots ta pay.

November 5, 2007 - Posted by | RL

9 Comments »

  1. The sense of violation would have me on the ceiling with my hair on fire.
    This is a tough call, the gun issue. I don’t have one, but recently there’s been events here in CT that have me considering one, and/or a serious alarm system (web search ‘Cheshire CT home invasion’ and you’ll see what I mean).
    If I were you, I would pursue a ‘safe gun ownership’ course, store the gun unloaded and locked in a drawer of cabinet.
    Good luck, and you have my sympathy/empathy.
    LadyPao

    Comment by LadyPao | November 5, 2007 | Reply

  2. People piss me off. It seems that the number of home break-ins is on the rise and I find myself asking, “How big of a piece of shit is a person that they think they are entitled to someone else’s stuff?” I have never been even remotely interested in owning a gun myself, but the closer I get to buying my own house, the more I start to rethink that position.

    I am not a father, however. I am not even a husband. I live alone and probably will continue to do so. So, I don’t have the other considerations that other people have. My main concern at this point is, “What if I buy a gun, someone breaks in while I’m not there, and steals the gun?” Then I have just helped to arm someone that ranks lower on the food chain that fertilizer.

    It’s a tough question and one without any easy answers I’m afraid.

    Comment by rao | November 5, 2007 | Reply

  3. Yeah that was gruesome LadyPao and it takes sick individual to do crap like that. I would have no problem choosing between my family and the repercussions of defending ourselves.

    Its a tough choice and one I am sure many parents and non-parents have faced. I’ll keep the louisville slugger close by until I make my decision but I hope I never run into the scenario you describe Rao. I could not live with that.

    Comment by brackishwater | November 5, 2007 | Reply

  4. Just wanted to say I’m glad you and your family are o.k. A burglary can be a scary thing, even when just root beer is taken. Someone came into your home, violated your space, and that changes things. I’m just glad that nothing else happened.

    Comment by KevinC | November 5, 2007 | Reply

  5. Consider a dog instead of a gun. Some big, protective but family-friendly breed like a lab. Our dog has a deep growl that scarred off a few shifty looking door-to-door “salesman” before. Hell, he’s freaked me out a few times I’ve tried sneaking into the house after a late night out with the guys.

    I don’t think you should get a gun for the reasons you and Rao mention. But if that’s the route you want to go, consider a shotgun not a pistol.

    I’m sorry that happened to you and your family.

    Comment by Link | November 6, 2007 | Reply

  6. Thanks Kevin.

    Hey BD, yea our current defense system is composed of a small rat terrier who has only one kill on a mailman. Think we may need to upgrade :P

    Comment by brackishwater | November 6, 2007 | Reply

  7. The dog idea is a good one, even something as docile as a golden retriever can be a good protector.

    Were you home when this happened? Are you sure it wasn’t one of the kids? (I don’t know how old they are but it sometimes happens)

    It sort of sounds like something a kid would do (yours or someone else’s).

    Comment by SmakenDahed | November 6, 2007 | Reply

  8. Just root beer and 7 bucks? Only a kid would take so little.

    I agree with the others that a dog is a better idea than a gun. Not all dogs are guard dogs, though, so do a little research. As someone who’s been bitten by a dog before, I can tell you they’re too fast and startling for a burglar to shoot without a lucky shot. Dogs help secure your house in other ways, too. A good one will bark when the kids are hurt, when a racoon is getting into the trash, or to alert you to other things. They can save you from unwanted critters in the house or yard (rats, moles, etc) or at least alert you to their presence. And they make the kids happy. But a dog would definitely be more expensive and make leaving the home for days at a time more complicated.

    A gun could be useful, but it would just as likely get you in trouble. If the burglar has a gun, odds are that he wouldn’t shoot you with it unless you scare him (though there are exceptions). Also, the odds of you waking up, grabbing your gun, and reaching the burglar in time to stop him aren’t so good. And if you’re rattled enough to shoot an unarmed burglar… even here in Texas, you’d have to be able to prove that your life could have been in danger, or you’d go to jail. For home protection, a baseball bat or big machete makes more sense to me.

    One of my sisters had all of her electronics and jewelry stolen last week. Theft is a lot more common than burglary. Weapons don’t help protect against theft. Dogs do.

    Comment by Aaron | November 7, 2007 | Reply

  9. True man, true. Maybe it is time to increase the size of the family.
    I still have yet to replace that bottle of Root Beer. :P

    Comment by brackishwater | November 8, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

